Skip to content

The Thinker

May 1, 2012

Thinking Animal

“There is no path to happiness. Happiness is the path.” Buddha

I am addicted to thinking. My brain is quite the busybody and is constantly ruminating about something. It takes effort to push the “pause” button and interrupt the incessant chatter of my mind. And I am getting better at it the older I get.

I am one of those people who finds it challenging to practice spirituality on a daily basis. By practicing I mean having a dedicated quiet time or daily meditation practice. I have learned some good techniques to avoid the worst pitfalls of the day (e.g. deep breathing instead of losing my temper, listening instead of trying to fix) but I am not making the progress toward “Enlightenment” that I want. Or am I?

I have taken the first step toward Enlightenment or Peace or whatever you want to call it. The first step is to realize you have been asleep and to wake up. Some people call it Awareness or Being Present. I just call it waking up.

Waking up isn’t all that hard. Life pretty much forces it on you when you realize the common factor in all your problems is you. There are some people who never seem to get it of course, but I’m pretty sure that “eureka moment” comes to most of us at some point in our lives. We wake up and understand our power to create our own reality. The hard part is staying awake. How do we keep from going back to sleep?

It is oh so easy to blame others or circumstances for our unhappiness. We use the “If only…” excuse. “If only I had… more money, a different job, a different family…then I would be happy.” This is the human condition and it is the rare person who escapes this misery trap. As someone said, “Happiness is an inside job.”

We are all self-fulfilling prophecies. This is the secret of The Secret and The Law of Attraction. Our thoughts are terribly important for we become what we think about. So, for now, I am content to catch myself when I have fallen into negative thinking. It is enough, for now, to turn off the incessant brain chatter and just breathe.

Enlightenment and Peace, like balance, is something that doesn’t come once. It is something we learn and maintain as we go along. It is a practice. Aw snap! I thought I had gotten out of that whole daily spiritual practice thing. O well. I think I will go meditate now.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 2, 2012 2:52 am

    Addiction to thinking is part of the human condition, it takes an awareness shift to step out of this cycle, and discipline to maintain our observational stance; enlightenment is also an inside job, and an infinite work in progress! Thank you for the link to WooWoo, and really enjoyed reading The Thinker. Namaste

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

